Beginnings Part 2

Let’s make a statement, so that those of you scanning the first couple of pages can find what you
want to see.

[This is the second excerpt from chapter 1 of the book, which can be read or downloaded in pdf form here.]

Let’s make a statement, so that those of you scanning the first couple of pages can find what you
want to see.

I believe the entire Bible to be the Word of God, authoritative, sufficient, complete, and inerrant. In this, I include the Book of Genesis. I take the Bible at face value. Since the Bible says that God created the world in just six days and rested on the seventh, that is what I believe. I accept that these days were literally 24-hour periods of time. I believe that there are few, if any, gaps in the genealogies — I can accept none in the genealogies of Genesis 5 or 1 Chronicles 1. Thus, I believe the world to be young, compared to the millions and billions of years usually quoted. I take the earth to be about 6,000 years old.

Some wish to stretch the age to about ten thousand years, but I still think 6,000 is far more likely. Despite describing this as a young-earth position, I personally think that 6,000 years is a very long time and adequately explains verses in the Bible which refer to the earth as ancient. Six thousand years is pretty ancient to me. I do not accept pseudo-creationist theories, therefore, such as progressive creationism, day-age theory, the gap theory, theistic evolution, or any other idea that waters down a belief in the literal, historical truth of Genesis.

There! I’ve said it all. I hope you will accept that these ideas are not some sort of blind faith. I will return to every one of those statements and justify them, biblically, scientifically, or both.

The question in a study such as this is always, “Where shall we start our study?” I have been speaking and writing on creationism for well over 20 years. I used to start by tackling the science, showing that evolution is wrong. More recently, I have come to the view that the main problem in today’s church is a lack of belief in the Bible itself, so I now tend to start from the Bible’s account and build the argument from there. That is why I have written this book in biblical order, examining Genesis chapters 1 to 11, passage by passage.

But how does Genesis itself begin the account? “In the beginning, God. . . .” This powerful set of four words tells us:

• God is central to everything.
• God was before everything.
• Everything had a beginning.
• God was there before that beginning.
• God is the key subject matter of the universe.

We can say nothing about anything in the Bible without reference to God. But this phrase goes further. It declares that we can say nothing about anything, anywhere without reference to God.

One Response to “Beginnings Part 2”

  1. Robert Parrish Says:

    I look forward to your defense of those statements and learning for myself how to communicate them to my own circle of friends.


Leave a Reply

